unemployment for cover drivers

John38

In my building laid off cover drivers often file for a partial unemployment claim. But being a newer cover driver I have a lot of unanswered questions such as how does it work with your benefits? i currently work the local sort usually from 4-8pm but it isnt enough to make ends meet. So by opening up a claim to make up for what im not making on lack of driving and working local sort roughly 20 hours a week. Is that enough to keep my benefits?

Faceplanted

No where does it say your full time unless your supplement is diff from mine. Our cover drivers are part time. If you are a part time employee. Ups guarantees you 3.5hr a day.

You cover drive knowing what u were getting into, idk how it's fair that you guys get a check from the gov if you are only part time.

542thruNthru

In my building laid off cover drivers often file for a partial unemployment claim. But being a newer cover driver I have a lot of unanswered questions such as how does it work with your benefits? i currently work the local sort usually from 4-8pm but it isnt enough to make ends meet. So by opening up a claim to make up for what im not making on lack of driving and working local sort roughly 20 hours a week. Is that enough to keep my benefits?

I don't know your local but here it has no effect on our benefits. It also depended on how many hours you have been working and for how long. We have cover drivers work pretty much fulltime for years and then out of no where get sent back in the hub for a few months.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I don't know your local but here it has no effect on our benefits. It also depended on how many hours you have been working and for how long. We have cover drivers work pretty much fulltime for years and then out of no where get sent back in the hub for a few months.

Back when I was a casual (1989) we had to work 36 days in a quarter to get benefits for the following quarter so, yes, it does have an effect on our benefits.