UPS California off the street rate?

hyouka

I have been working for UPS as a part time loader for 6 years, I live in Illinois, I can be a driver already, however, I want to transfer to California, I know if i transfer I would be at the bottom of the list (which sucks :/). I am considering quitting my job and just try to apply in Cali to get hired off the street. would I get preference over people who has never worked at UPS? , since I know what im doing I have been seasonal driver and driver helper. do you guys think this is a good idea? thank you! :D

Bagels

Family Leave Fridays!!!
-- If you're attempting to be an off-the-street hire in CA, sure it's a good idea. But it's like asking 'I'm thinking about buying a lottery ticket tonight so I can be a millionaire tomorrow. Do you guys think it's a good idea?' Simply not going to happen. For one thing, the company has more candidates than openings for that position. For another, it's circumventing the contract, and despite the rep UPS receives on here, most management won't play that game.

-- You cannot transfer to CA because you want to. Transfers are granted, at UPS's discretion, for educational purposes only. At least 6 people will sign off (your sort/center manager, district HR manager, district/division manager ... as well as the equivalents where you're transferring to). How many requests do you think UPS receives annually in places like Los Angeles, Orlando, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, etc. saying 'I'm 30, never been to college, but I'm transferring to do so.' How many do you think are successful?

-- If you're attempting to be an off-the-street PT hire in CA, if you can get by starting over at $10/hour (you're probably around $15) without benefits for a year, then by all means do it.

BakerMayfield2018

Fight the power.