UPS Career

jaredups

Hi
Im 23 and not to far off 24 years old. My main point of this is to get advice on what I should do and just some info on being a handler then getting to the driver position. I worked as a driver helper in 2010 and it honestly was really fun to me, yes I was sore from all the stops but I enjoyed it. I felt like I contributing a lot cuz I took all the packages to the door while the driver went in the back of the truck and sorted out the next stops. The hours were really cool to I would get picked up around 11 and get off at like 7ish. The driver was a really badass lady who basically talked me up about the job and how shes rolling in $$$$ and talked about all her vacation, benefits and her retirement plan. I think she told me it is 25years and out? She said she was sore a lot and had to have a ice bath nightly for her knees. She also said she worked in the hub as a package handler for only 3 years and has been driving ever since. So ever since this experience as a driver helper I have always had ups on my mind as a potential career path. A year and a half ago I got a basic associates degree from a county college. This semester I went to a university to try and get a bachelors in environmental science. Well that didn't really work out and I dropped my classes cuz I jus felt somewhat miserable and it just wasn't for me. The university really has nothing else im interested in so im about to move back home with my mom in a month. Im at a point in my life where I don't know what im doing and I honestly have never felt so free in my life. I jus want to travel the world with no direction and just see where life takes me. I know I need to make a decision on what the hell im gona do as a career tho so im not a pizza delivery driver the rest of my life..... I jus want to know some info on the UPS package car Driver position. How many years does it take on average to be a driver? Would it take longer at a larger hub? Or would it take a shorter time at a l