UPS Drivers Discouraged from Making Left Turns

A

Anonymous Dude

Absurd Assertion

Ken Lay is still alive on an island with Elvis & Jim Morrison!

J

Jimrogers

Dear Friends,
When J. Edgar Hoover was alive, One of his critics wrote a book entitled, "No Left Turns." It seems that Hoovers chauffeur driven car was hit when it was in the process of making a left turn. An edict was sent out, whatever route the Director's car was on, it could make no left turns. This caused enormous difficulty for the FBI in plotting the routes that the Commissioner would take. In the rare event that a left turn could not be avoided, FBI personnel would have to block the intersection so that there would be no risk.
To Hoover, it seemed like a good idea - to his many critics it seemed insane. However he continued to hold his office. I hope that our computer directed routing has more and better motivation than Hoover's did.

O

oncebrown

This is not news and it is not new to most UPS drivers. As a driver I was aware of the avoidance of left turns over 20 years ago--long before UPS had any kind of high tech was of routing their trucks. We were encouraged to run our routes on a more or less circular direction, turning right wherewver possible without going out too far out of the way. After doing this for any given amount of time it became automatic. Going predominately to the right and in a circular pattern would help you avoid crossing your path repeatedly and encourage you to finish all the deliveries on any given area before you entered another area. Believe me, UPS would not do these kink of things if they did not save time and money.

rushfan

It sure as hell hasn't been fun for me to watch as it was for mr. goodrich. My route has changed, and the I.E. Guys promised that they'll reloop it so I don't make so many left turns. It has been 2 months, and the route still is a mess. I don't follow trace anymore. So much for the savings.

wkmac

rushfan said: