UPS Overtime

Re-Raise

Does anyone know why UPS seems to have no problem with their drivers working so much overtime, while the USPS and FedEx do everything they can to see that their employees are off the clock before they reach overtime pay.

What makes our business model so different? I have been a driver for over 15 years and I have never had this fully explained to me. If you work 40 drivers 1.5 hours each of overtime at $43 an hour, that overtime pay could have paid 11 additional drivers 8 hours at $28 an hour and everyone could have been done in 8 hrs.

What am I missing here? Is it the pension contributions or the benefits?

The latest push at our center is Stops Per Car. Our manager spent 15 minutes at a PCM explaining to 20 drivers why he had to cut a route to meet our Stops Per Car. I figure at $43 an hour times 20 drivers that 15 minutes would equal $215. That would have paid for the route they cut.

drewed

Shankman
Except for a few service levels the USPS doesnt have a guarantee, so if its not done today...theres always tomorrow, a lot of FDX drivers dont work 8 hour days......plus the cost of benefits, more package cars, pension....thats the reasons i would think

old levi's

blank space
Does anyone know why UPS seems to have no problem with their drivers working so much overtime.....................................................................................

Yes.

Re-Raise

How does laying off a driver for a day and working the five drivers around him 2 hours of overtime each save on pension and benefit contributions?

Big Babooba

The pension and H&W contributions are usually capped at 40 hrs. They don't have to contribute for the laid off person and the 2 hrs O/T that the other drivers worked. That is assuming that the other drivers work over 40 hrs.

HEFFERNAN

Huge Member
Honestly re-raise

This is their business model and they are sticking to it.
Until someone new runs the company and puts a stop to overtime, this will continue forever.