Wage Progression/Seniority Question

gostillerz

Hi everyone. Quick question.

I've been a reg temp/cover driver since 11/09, but not sure of my exact seniority date. I've been making $17.25 until today's check where I was raised to $18.45. Shouldn't I be at (or close to) the 2 year pay pay rate? I called up my on car and he told me it goes by days worked, not just by the calendar. I can't find anything in the contract book about it, just goes seniority/one year/two years, etc. If he's right, I'm pretty screwed as besides peak, I only drive maybe twice a month if I'm lucky.

Anyone know how it works?

gostillerz

Phil,
I'm in Mid Atlantic. I call in the morning to see if I'm driving. If I'm not, I can work local sort. I think that's the same as a cover driver, not sure though. But yeah, I get screwed.

Upstate,
Well that's really lame. Going at this rate, I won't hit top rate until 2019. 2 guys who went to driving school maybe 3 months before me are at $20.75. Here's what my supplement says under wages:

Start: $16.10
Seniority: $17.25
12 months: $18.45
24 months: $20.75
36 months: Top rate

I can't find anything about "days worked". If I just got the $18.45 as of last week, my seniority date would be in December, right? I started driving in November of 09.

Last edited:

UPSGUY72

gostillerz:919738 said:
Phil,
I'm in Mid Atlantic. I call in the morning to see if I'm driving. If I'm not, I can work local sort. I think that's the same as a cover driver, not sure though. But yeah, I get screwed.

Upstate,
Well that's really lame. Going at this rate, I won't hit top rate until 2019. 2 guys who went to driving school maybe 3 months before me are at $20.75. Here's what my supplement says under wages:

I can't find anything about "days worked". If I just got the $18.45 as of last week, my seniority date would be in December, right? I started driving in November of 09.[/QUOT