What is your opinion of this situation?

Alleycar

I am a bid route driver in an extended center. I am also a feeder cover driver. I got a text message from my sup this afternoon saying I may have to cover a feeder run tomorrow night. When I got back to the building this evening, I checked the staffing book. As far as I can tell, they are trying to give the feeder driver the day off if they are able to cover my route. His name is listed in the staffing book with VPH? next to it. My schedule for the week says regular start time for tomorrow. Discuss!

35years

Gravy route
I got a text message from my sup this afternoon saying I may have to cover a feeder run tomorrow night. When I got back to the building this evening, I checked the staffing book. As far as I can tell, they are trying to give the feeder driver the day off if they are able to cover my route. His name is listed in the staffing book with VPH? next to it. My schedule for the week says regular start time for tomorrow. Discuss!
May does not cut it.
You are scheduled to work your normal shift. Show up for it, demand to to work it.
VPH might mean verified personal holiday...not your problem. They scheduled you for your normal shift and did not tell you with certainty you would not be working it.
Do not turn on your cell phone (if they have your number) before work. I would also unplug my land line until working the normal shift.

Alleycar

In our area, we are allowed to fragment up to 2 weeks of vacation into personal days (VPH). I apologize for not clarifying that initially. I'm heading in to work now, I'll let you know how it shakes out. Thank you for your input. Happy Thanksgiving!

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

In our area, we are allowed to fragment up to 2 weeks of vacation into personal days (VPH). I apologize for not clarifying that initially. I'm heading in to work now, I'll let you know how it shakes out. Thank you for your input. Happy Thanksgiving!