What should I do about trying to get re-hired to UPS?

nygiants

I was a driver-helper last month and my driver really liked me and told the coordinator I was ****ing fantastic and picking up on things faster than the drivers he trained and all those types of things. HR mentioned when I returned my uniform how they would be rehiring helpers to work in the morning but to wait a few weeks to call. I called monday and nobody picked up, same for yesterday, so today I called a diffrent number and she re-directed me to the same number as before and had me on hold for 15 minutes before they just hung on me. I really wanted to work for UPS and was wondering what should I do, should I go down their and see if I can talk to them face to face? I'm 18 and I really need to get a job.

wgf46

Yes, every two weeks go to the center to let them know your interested. That's what I did. Worked peak 2010, from January to May 2011 I emailed the Center Manager, they had an opening and hiring. Stay persistent !

nmang2412

My first year after being a helper i did the whole call a week later and they gave me they shaft everytime. After this year when i went to pick up my last check i asked if i could apply for anything. She asked me if i wanted to be a preloader and had me applying on a computer a second later. So, all i can say is if you can go in and ask, do it! If nothing comes of it, next peak try again? Try to ask them in person? BE A HELPER not a seasonal preloader by us they rehire helpers instead of the actual seasonal preloaders!!!!

Bagels

Family Leave Fridays!!!
It doesn't hurt to be persistent, but be aware that most permanent inside job openings will be filled by those who worked such jobs during peak. The winter months are the least popular for vacation redemption; that coupled with declining volume generally translates into temporary part-time layoffs (or "transitioned to on-call" as UPS would prefer). Typically, the next big wave of hiring begins in May.

Jackburton