What the HECK with "soft Layoffs"

SMCRDFCL

It is not in the contract. Soft layoff is an Overnite term. Remember who is running this train wreck called the 'UPS Freight Train'. The term means that you sit at home, by the phone, wait for THE GREAT UPSF to call and offer you work. UPSF gets really P.O. if you go to work for FedEx Ground as a contract driver for one of their owner operators. Just show up on UPS property, with a FedEx uniform on, and say hello to its UPSF management team. Be sure and not sign up for unemployment insurance because that would raise their premium for unemployment insurance. You are laid either off or not according to most State unemployment insurance providers. Get your unemployment insurance weekly checks-you have earned them.

sidewinder

just pushing the paper
First of all let me say that I am a road driver so please remember that this is coming from a road drivers point of view. There are several things that need to be fixed with this particular problem. First is the fact that we have EXTRA board drivers with no set start time or set run that they perform. These particular drivers if they are in the 90% are guaranteed 8hrs a day and 40hrs a week. The bottom 10% are not. Where the biggest problem comes in is this BS in the contract about AD HOC drivers. There is nothing that says how many they can have and there is absolutely nothing that protects these individuals from getting screwed every single day. This needs to be fixed NOW!!!!:angry:

SMCRDFCL

Soft layoff is a Latent Overnite Operational Psychosis term. There is no such thing in The Contract and your State unemployment office uses the term laid off and nothing in between.