when does my AIR PAY TOP OUT ?

cwb425

I am a cover driver at my center. I cover drive routes and air drive when they need me. When does my air rate pay top out ? 24 months ? I cant seem to find out. When does that period start...?.. the 1st time I ever delivered an air package...or when I became a qualified cover driver ?

I don't mind cover driving routes during the week and make pretty good money but I hate having to work on a Saturday air route only making 12.75 an hour for around 3hrs

UnconTROLLed

perfection
24 months. however, are you classified as a TCD (temp cover driver) or something else? you would have different language and different pay if that were the case.

cwb425

I am A TCD. But I am also a local sorter (reload) I work in warehouse when I do not drive routes and then they make me drive on saturdays for air
and sometimeas I run EAM early air packages in the a.m.

AKX

Air drivers top out in 2 years here on the east coast. Top pay for air is $23.xx. Air and cover are 2 different classifications so 24 months after you ran air first is the date you will top out.

UPSER110

how much do you get paid as a cover driver? $17 something? Saturday air is pretty easy and it would be nice for the extra money especially when you hit top rate.

JonFrum

If you are a part-timer, you get $13 per hour after 12 months, $13.50 after 18 months, and $23.365 after 24 months, which is the current Top Rate. (I'm including the 12-cent COLA.) The Top Rate will increase 42.5-cents on 2/1/2012, 47.5-cents on 8/1/2012 (plus COLA, if any) and 47.5 cents on 2/1/2013.

A full-time Air Driver would get $2 more.

It sounds like you are a Saturday Air Exception Driver. Your two year progression starts when you first started doing Saturday Air.

Early AM Airs should normally be full-time package car driver work. If you do them occasionally, I assume you are doing them on an "exception" basis as well.

See Article 40, especially Section 1(h) and Section 6.

packageguy