Which is better to work as, package handler for UPS or package handler for FedEx?

madwhmax

I was a driver helper at UPS this last peak season and tried really hard to be a package handler but they just don't offer me a position, I had an interview about a month or so ago and now their excuse is that there's not enough volume. In the meantime I applied at fedex for package handler and I might have an interview soon. The pay is better (13/h vs 9/h) than ups but I imagine the benefits are not as good.

My real question: how do the benefits compare? Which offers better tuition assistance? I'm most interested in tuition assistance and I know ups is good for this but I have no idea if fedex would let me choose any courses unrelated to work or even if they offer tuition assistance at all. Many thanks for any help as this would relieve some of my stress.

vantexan

In the meantime I applied at fedex for package handler and I might have an interview soon. The pay is better (13/h vs 9/h) than ups but I imagine the benefits are not as good.

If it's FedEx Express then yes they have tuition reimbursement. Unless things have changed you should be able to study what you want. I don't know about Ground handler benefits or how we compare with UPS. If you are only interested in a part-time job with tuition reimbursement, and not interested in going full-time down the road, then I'd go for the handler job that pays the most.

Last edited:

vantexan

The tuition reimbursement is a Whopping $1,500 a year..Whats that really good for?

It's good for $1500 a year that you don't have to come up with yourself while working part-time. Tuition is just part of the overall expense of going to college. You don't expect them to pay all or most of your way through college too do you?

Ichabod81