Work both UPS and Fedex

brown_trousers

I've been an exception air driver in addition to my normal package handling shift for a quite a few years now, but for about the last year or so my hours have been cut from driving 6 days a week to now driving maybe 1 day a month. Needless to say... that doesn't cover living expenses.

Fortunately, a friend from church owns some fedex routes and wants to hire me on during the day to deliver for him. So I could deliver for fedex in the day and work UPS at night, eventually waiting for that day that I can go full-time driving with UPS. He says he is fine with me still working at UPS while I work for him. But what if UPS finds out? Could this lead to a bad situation for me? I don't remember signing any kind of "no-competition statement" or anything else to that effect.

jimstud

Banned
when you are off the clock you can do anything you want. i just wouldn't advertiise that you are working for the competition.

over9five

Staff member
You said you are no longer making enough money. That would settle it for me.

Go work for your buddy. As long as it doesn't interfere with your UPS job, who cares? Nobody's going to tell you what you can do while off of UPSs clock.

FedExer267

Just be sure your route will not interfere with your night job at UPS. There will be days you will work 14 hours and I would hate to see you put your UPS job in jeporady. When you get to driver for UPS you will have a career and will make a great living, working for a contractor however is a nowhere job. You will get a weekly paycheck but thats it no matter how much you work you will make the same. So just keep the big picture in mind because UPS will provide a future for you where as FEDEX will not. Keep it quite though you will not want UPS finding out.

705red

Browncafe Steward