Working after UPS. What do you do?

brown67

I'm still about 12 years away from retirement, but starting to think about life after UPS. I have 22 years with UPS and right now I'm a package/feeder driver. Should be in feeders in a few months after a retirement of one of our 3 feeder drivers. I'm curious what type of jobs if any you are working during retirement. Are you doing driving related jobs or something totally different?

brown67

I want to retire at 57 and don't want to stop working. Want to do something part-time to stay busy. When my dad retired his doctor told him to find something to do. The stats on how many men die shortly after they retire is quite high. I can't remember the number, but I remember being shocked at how many men die the first year after they retire. This is about money, but about health and enjoyment.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

You're right---you should not just simply stop doing anything as the chances of dying earlier increase with non-activity.

Your pension plan may have limitations on the number of hours that you can work while collecting a pension. This is usually for work within the same trade.

I like working with numbers and plan on working for a tax preparation firm during their Peak season. Beyond that, I plan on working on my golf game.

rod

Retired 22 years
Call me Forrest Gump----I mow grass for my local township (park-cemetery- town hall ). Its the perfect job because I do it when I want to and they pay me quite well thank-you.

moreluck

golden ticket member
My hubby works at golfing.....Tues. Thurs. Sat. and Sun. If he wins skins, he comes home with cash and we go out to lunch.
Rough life, but someone's gotta do it.

downtime8763