Your job sucks? (long)

AnimalNYC

I'm 23 years old and i've been working as a sorter for 2 years now and should be driving in about another year and a half. I'd say 8 out of 10 drivers i talk to say driving isnt that bad, no one ever told me that the job was horrible or anything like that, some even say they love it and it's worth staying. But on this forum it seems like every single one of you are miserable and hate your lives. I've heard multiple people here say things like ''go look at the drivers faces before they start work, and see how happy they are''. we'll it seems to me that most of them seem fine before, during and after work, i rarely see a pissed off miserable looking driver, most of them actually look pretty happy and are usually joking around and what not. Plus, you can pretty much go to any job and you'll see people who are pissed off all day long and all they do is sit at a desk doing nothing. Everyone complains about their job, no matter what they do. But I don't understand why so many people on here hate the job so much? If you hate it so much why do you stay? UPS drivers make almost double what the average person makes, you get full benefits for you and your family, pension, paid vacations, sick days, union rights, job security, you are off weekends, holidays, you dont work graveyard hours, and you have the choice to not work over time unless you want it, according to the union contract. Do you know how many people out there wish they can have even half of that? When i tell someone i work for UPS it's like telling them i work on the SWAT team. I worked as a driver for fedex during peak and while it was pretty fast paced and found myself cursing here and there, i didnt hate it. I drove around, hung out in traffic, talked to girls, laughed at idiots, listened to music, had my cooler of food and water, did some joint mobility exercises and stretching during my break, delivered 150 packages, picked up around 30 packages, worked for 9 hours, got out,