10 hours off dot violation

Shocon17

I'm a new driver so I'm low on seniority and work preload when there's not a route for me. Yesterday after I worked preload they called me later in the day and asked to cover for the air driver that called in so I did. Today after work they called to tell me I violated the 10 hours off between shifts rule. What is the punishment for a dot violation?

I'm a new driver so I'm low on seniority and work preload when there's not a route for me. Yesterday after I worked preload they called me later in the day and asked to cover for the air driver that called in so I did. Today after work they called to tell me I violated the 10 hours off between shifts rule. What is the punishment for a dot violation?
Slap on the wrist up to termination. Seen it go both ways.

How many hours did you have off before working preload? How many hours between preload and covering the air route?

Yeet

Not gonna let ‘em catch the Midnight Rider
You’re allowed to violate either drive time or on duty time (not both) once a week. As far as violating a reset, I have no idea. Never done it. Maybe some of the more senior drivers can clear that up.

Shift Inhibit

He who laughs last didn't get it.
@MECH-lift

trickpony1

A reasonable person would think that management knew, or should have known, the OP worked preload that morning and not called him in.

Seems there is some culpability on managements part.

Hope this helps.

It's not 10 hours off between shifts but 10 consecutive hours off in a 24 hour period. And only if you drive off property.

Shift Inhibit

He who laughs last didn't get it.
It's not 10 hours off between shifts but 10 consecutive hours off in a 24 hour period. And only if you drive off property.
That’s what I thought too. Off property “drive time” is the only thing that matters?
Knew these 22.4 positions were dumb af. All the 22.4 people at my building never work inside, that I know of.