2 questions

Frunas

hi im new to browncafe.com and i have to questions that need some attention. First off, I currently work the twilight shift and scheduling complications at home keep me from reporting to work very often( our family only has 1 car, lack of childcare, and wife getting home later than expected).
i spoke to my full time superviser and asked for a shift change to the next one. i havent heard anything from him and its been about 3 weeks. I really dont like going over people but im tired of waiting and i dont want my lack of attendance to affect me. what else should i do?

secondly is not as important but kind of bothering me. I was told that i completed my 1st year in June 2009 and someone was supposed to come talk to me about scheduling vacation time no one has done so. I asked my supervisor if i can talk to him about it and he kind of brushed me off, i approached him about it a 2nd time and told him i would give him a call during the afternoon, i left him a message and never got back to me. i understand he can get busy but since then hes been down to talk to me about my attendance, something called a salt log, and to ask for contribution for United way, and not once has he asked when i would like a vacation. i dont know how exactly its supposed to work so any info in to the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You in advance

brownrodster

You do not get to schedule vacation anytime you want to.

Many contracts are different. But my building we schedule vacations in jan/feb for march of that year until february of the next year. Scheduling vacation goes from top of seniority to bottom of seniority.

Only so many people are allowed off per week so lower seniority workers oftentimes don't have many weeks to choose from when it is their turn to schedule vacation.

Don't waste your time talking to your supervisor about this. Ask coworkers when in the year you schedule vacation.