6 1/2 years preload to new fulltime driver

Bitcoinz

They wanted my "Avatar" pic.
I've been working with brown since 2008. I went from seasonal help loading 5 trucks, unload, sort and finally spa position within 6 and a half years. I love my company and my union, it's a delicate balance.

I know what is expected in the first 30 days. Sweat and blood (well hopefully no blood). I 've waited so long, it seemed surreal when they notified me. I'm excited, nervous and anxious all at the same time.

I guess what I am asking for is some beginner tips or maybe driving stories you would like to share when you first went full-time. I'd really appreciate it :)

Be safe out there...

clever_username

Philosoraptor
Take your time and learn your route, you get a big overage allowance when starting off.
Don't keep your DIAD in your holster when you're driving, as it can accidentally record while traveling. Use the holder on the dash.
Once you get your large packages/air out of the way, find a place to stop and sort your shelves out. It will save time later.

Bitcoinz

Wear good shoes. make sure you break them in,before you try them on the route.

Your feet can make or break you.

Can you suggest a certain style/brand? One of my buddies who went driving recently said he got some Dr. Scholls pads in his boots and they really helped.

But maybe there is a certain boot most drivers prefer?

TooTechie

Geek in Brown
The shoe topic has been beaten to death. Search for shoes using the search function.
Yes, unless you get a contoured insole built into the shoe, the dr sholls gel insoles feel great on the feet. Don't get the generic.
There are hundreds of new driver threads on the forum but bottom line hustle your butt off and don't hit anything.

Sent from my 28 year old brown truck

Bitcoinz

The shoe topic has been beaten to death. Search for shoes using the search function.