About Leaving Driving for Preload...Is this possible?

jimmyjds

So i am a seniority swing driver with about 1.25 years in as a driver. Two weeks ago i was called to work only 10 hours. The week after I worked only 2 hours as a driver. This isn't paying the bills. I have three hungry mouths to feed besides my wife and I. I found another full time job that will give me guaranteed 40 hours, but the benefits package isn't that great. I wanted to go back to preload to keep the benefits and then work the full time job. My driver supervisor said that wasn't allowed. If i don't drive, i can't work at UPS. Is this how it is?

HardknocksUPSer

So i am a seniority swing driver with about 1.25 years in as a driver. Two weeks ago i was called to work only 10 hours. The week after I worked only 2 hours as a driver. This isn't paying the bills. I have three hungry mouths to feed besides my wife and I. I found another full time job that will give me guaranteed 40 hours, but the benefits package isn't that great. I wanted to go back to preload to keep the benefits and then work the full time job. My driver supervisor said that wasn't allowed. If i don't drive, i can't work at UPS. Is this how it is?
Why can't you bump back into the building to get your guaranteed hours?

Rack em

Made the Podium
I think if a preloader quits or one gets moved up you could bump back in? But the best thing to do would be to remain a driver! The first few years are tough but its worth it IMO. You can collect unemployment you know...

upschuck

Don't know if you can pick your sort, but you can "bump" 2pt with less company seniority.

Mugarolla

Light 'em up!

In the Central, once you go FT you cannot go back to PT permenantly.

You can bump 2 PTers temporarily while you are laid off as long as you have more company seniority.