Accident Today

yeaalabama1212

I am fairly new at driving, going on my 2nd year. So today I am going thru an intersection and this guy decides to come from a stop and drive into the driver's side of the car. No injuries, just damage to his truck. I cleared the intersection, he stops at his line(indicates to me that he sees me). UPS say it's a tier III accident, so I don't know if I will be allowed to drive tomorrow. My on car says it's nothing I could have done. Cops declared it his fault since he was making a left turn and failed to yield. Any idea or ideas of what to expect?

klein

Für Meno :)
You get to explain you accident at the pcm, plus you get a drive along. Safe driving record is also broken.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Intersection accidents are always classifed Tier III. Were you taken out of service or were you allowed to finish the day? UPS will normally take you out of service until their investigation is complete which will determine whether the accident was avoidable or unavoidable. This determination is independant of that which was made by the police officer. It is not unusual for our guy to be charged with an avoidable accident even though the police cited the other driver as being at fault.

If you are not on road tomorrow you should ask if you can make up your hours working in the hub, whether on the preload, metro or both. I would think that you would be back on road, if not tomorrow, then certainly by Friday.

Do yourself a favor--ignore Klein. He is no longer an employee at UPS.

yeaalabama1212

I finished my pick ups, that's the only thing I had left. One sup says out of service until they tell them something. My on car sup says back on the road tomorrow with a safety ride. Strange thing is just yesterday they followed me observing my driving and delivery methods. Only thing they said needed improving was my "walk pace."

klein