An alternate form of discpline?

soberups

Pees in the brown Koolaid
I have often thought that there should be an additional alternative for discipline, one that is more serious than a suspension, but that falls just short of a termination. That alternative could be; loss of seniority. By that I mean that the driver retains his job, but goes to the bottom of the seniority list. That would involve a cut in pay as well as loss of vacations. Such an alternative would allow the company to really drop the hammer on an employee who deserved it, as well as making an example of him....but at the same time the guy could still support his family. Opinions?

dilligaf

IN VINO VERITAS
Sober, that is an interesting thought. IMO, one that would never fly with the union but an interesting one just the same. As a driver my whole world (at work) revolves around seniority. I could easily see myself supporting this idea, especially this past week. This 'alternative' sure would shake things up a bit, and make one stand up and take notice.

blue efficacy

Are you talking company seniority or job classification seniority? I can see stripping someone of their bidding rights and such, but not their vacation weeks and pay rate!

I see way too much possibility for abuse. Geez, we get people fired all the time that get their jobs back. As Cino said, too much ammo.
If you have an employee that has been suspended of an infraction of policy and continues to mess up, then maybe a termination is in order. Some of the things people get fire over on first offense is extreme discipline. IMO.

Treegrower

Stripped of senority, put to the bottom of the list, a CUT IN PAY !! ???? Are you all effing high or something. My lord not even non -union companies do that to their employees

JustTired

free at last.......
Sorry soberups,