Any way to get back into UPS if you've quit in the past?

I worked as a 2nd shift loader back in the Fall of 2008. I wasn't able to stay because it began conflicting with my full-time permanent day job. I called in one night to tell them, and they told me they were taking it as quitting. Anytime I try to apply for being a handler again on the UPS website, it tells me "due to you being a previous UPS employee you are not eligible for rehire," whenever I submit an application. Does this mean I'm banned for life from UPS, or should I go in person to Human Resources and explain my situation? When I used to go to HR in the past, they would just tell me to sit down at the computer and fill out the application online, which is going to give me the same error message. I live in South Jersey, very close to the Lawnside, NJ and Philadelphia, PA(Oregon Ave) hubs and would like to work for them again, as I'm looking for side money to supplement my full-time day job. I enjoyed the physicality of the job and the "work-out" feel, just don't know if I'm banned forever or not.

beatupbrown

We had a driver who quit in one state and got a job as a driver off the street this was the expectation .One thing he had going of him the center manager form his last job called on his behalf and give a positive work history.

Covemastah

Hoopah drives the boat Chief !!
If you had no issues with them,I don't see why they won't take you back. I left in good terms in 1987,then got re/hired in 1989 and have been here since then !!

dannyboy

From the promised LAND
It depends on how you left your job.

If you give a 30 day notice, and have been a decent employee, they do not prohibit you from being rehired in the future. That is the proper way of leaving a job without leaving hard feelings, and it allows a company to find and train someone to replace you.

But if you call in right before your shift, and tell them you quit, that is a totally different situation.