Are supervisors allowed to question option days?

deemoni

You had me at "Hello World!"
I had to take an option day today because I don't have any way of getting there (I currently am unable to drive). He proceeded to ask me why I couldn't find anybody to drive me and I responded and he didn't respond back, so I don't know if he's just giving it to me or what? I know I gave him too much information by giving a reason for my option day, my union rep told me you can just take them off for whatever reason for whichever day. Anyone know about this?

I'm a part-time package handler, an unloader, for the twilight sort (I've been working there for over four years).

badpal.

avoiding brown kool-aid
They are YOUR optional days as per the contract...they aren't management doing you a favor. All you need to do is request it in the appropriate time frame. They don't have a right to question why you need that day.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Short answer: if you don't otherwise have an attendance/tardiness problem, you don't have to worry (unless you really need the pay on next week's check).

There's usually some time frame you have to ask for the option day in advance. Some places 1 week, some 1 day, some 1 hour, etc. If you didn't ask for it in advance of whatever your contract's time window, the option day could be denied. In which case today could be listed as a code 15 -called in (usually have to call 1 hour b4 start), code 23-no call/no show (didn't call in early enough), or code 26-scheduled off, (I think option day is code 25). If they deny the opt. day, you would still have it to use later on in the year, or paid out at the end of the year.

If you do have an attendance/tardiness problem and the supe wants to write you up NC/NS; make sure you ask for your shop steward, refuse to sign the write up (and fix the attendance/tardiness problem, please!)

BrownSuit