Are there any ground p&d contractors willing to share some advice?

Hello all! I am a FedEx ground driver who has been employed with my contractor for a little over 2 years now.

Recently there have been a few routes posted for sale in my terminal. I would really like to make the leap from driver to contractor. The problem is I am extremely ignorant about what it takes to make that leap.

I will be meeting with some of the contractors who are selling within the next few days, and would like to go into these meetings well prepared. What are some of the things I should be asking and looking for apart from the obvious(number of stops, pickups, number of packages, miles driven, type of truck, maintenance, etc). Am I allowed to see previous settlements from this route etc.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you in advance!

bbsam

Staff member
Ask to see settlement sheets and expense accounts for the routes in question. Get a copy of the contract and have a lawyer go over it with you.

STFXG

^^ that's about it. You already know what you're getting in to. Good luck!

Sent using BrownCafe App

DRAisawesome

Why are they selling? Seems to me there are a lot of contractors getting out? I'm express but talk to the ground driver in the area. I at one time and still might invest in some routes.

STFXG

Why are they selling? Seems to me there are a lot of contractors getting out? I'm express but talk to the ground driver in the area. I at one time and still might invest in some routes.

It's not for everyone. Most old timers are starting to get out. Time commitments can be a lot for young families as well. Stress. Looking to cash out. Many reasons.

There's always at least a couple routes for sale. I know one that's been for sale for almost 10 years. When he's ready to actually leave he will offer it up at a reasonable price.

Sent using BrownCafe App

STFXG