Asking for opinions regarding UPS hiring protocals

letticesandwich

Currently pre-load. Will go to driver training next week.

Confusion comes from what is UPS going to do with me. I work at one center, but talking with HR, they MAY (they don't even know) be hiring me as a driver for another center. I do not want to work at this other center. The one I work at now is 20 minutes from home. This one they are hiring me for is 50 minutes away and it is said it a horrible center. I can refuse to be transferred correct? May not become a driver but that's fine.

Further, as a newbie driver, I understand the 30 day qualification, 30 days to make book. Also as newbie, I will be laid off a lot according to work needs. Can I still work preload when they don't need me? Is there a job role in UPS that allows this? I have a day job as well that will work with me.

Its kinda what I expect from UPS. Variables. I'm not really worried. Just confused. To get a full-time driving job and not be used, then all my possible working opportunities suffer because UPS has me in limbo is what I would like to avoid. Just looking out for myself trying to get more input and information if someone has seen or experienced a similar situation.

Pooter

They can put you wherever they want. Your center could be "training" for other centers. I would keep bothering HR till you get a clear answer where you will be driving out of.

Once qualified you can make up some hours mainly in twilight and some night sorts. You need 10 hrs rest before driving shift starts so preload is out.

scooby0048

This page left intentionally blank
I can refuse to be transferred correct? May not become a driver but that's fine.

Also as newbie, I will be laid off a lot according to work needs. Can I still work preload when they don't need me? Is there a job role in UPS that allows this? I have a day job as well that will work with me.

...did you intend to spell "lettuce" the way you did or was it an error?