Can i collect unemployment

I am a full time driver that got laid off until April. I have elected to do the split shift to keep my benefits and seniority but due to the long drive from my home i am unable to work both shifts, so i am only doing the preload right now. Can i collect unemployment on the other 4 hours to get me to my 8 hours? I cant make ends meet working 4-5 hrs a day.

upschuck

My state you can file on the difference, other states, maybe so, maybe not. Check your states unemployment office for the answer.

PT Car Washer

I am a full time driver that got laid off until April. I have elected to do the split shift to keep my benefits and seniority but due to the long drive from my home i am unable to work both shifts, so i am only doing the preload right now. Can i collect unemployment on the other 4 hours to get me to my 8 hours? I cant make ends meet working 4-5 hrs a day.
Find a second job closer to your home.

llamainmypocket

It's iffy. I'm not sure all states allow part time work and collecting benefits. The ones that do will subtract something from your weekly benefits. Furthermore, if you technically refused work by not doing the whole split and that becomes apparent to the abjucator then you will be denied.

It's a risky claim and a little dishonest. Perhaps if you could successfully argue your inability to work the other shift but arguments are generally taken to appeals. Benefits if delayed and taken to appeals would have you recieving them well after returning to work.

You never know though. You could luck out. But I'd consider a temp agency close to home and juggle both jobs.

bumped

You should be able to file for partial unemployment. Not working a split shift is not turning down work. You, as a full time driver, cannot turn down driving work. You won't get much money for partial unemployment, but worth checking out if you choose to.

rod

Retired 22 years