Can't carry cell phone on your person

Md2drag

Today in our PCM we were told we can no longer carry a cell phone on our person, must be locked in back of package car and only when punched out oon meal is it to be touched.

1.they told us we can't leave diad in back of pkg car on meal due to heat, why do I have to put my iPhone back there for the same reason.

2. If there was a family emergency I can't hear it back there, checking phone every time go in bulk head door is not productive.

3.i am a swing driver so I am on a different route and use my phone for maps. Not while vehicle is moving of course.

4.3 of the 4 calls yesterday were from management.

badpal.

avoiding brown kool-aid
I check my phone periodically throughout the day but there is no chance in hell I'm leaving my iPhone to bake in the back. All communication I do with the center is mostly through Diad unless its a breakdown or something complicated. They don't provide me with a cell phone for UPS business so I'm not obligated to use my personal phone for UPS business.

CRASH501

LMAO! "GOOD LUCK" what do feeder driver do? and I guess now they have to worry about diads being robbed at lunch! I know 50+ drivers that will NEVER take it to meal

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

My cellphone is clipped to my drink holder throughout the day. I don't carry it on my person as I feel it is unprofessional to have the phone ring or beep while making a delivery. It is my choice as to whether I use the phone for work.

Catatonic

Nine Lives
As soon as I get in the car, it comes out of my pocket and it's on vibrate.
I don't talk and drive just like I don't drink and drive.
I check it occasionally when I stop.

HomeDelivery

u guys are lucky you can message the center via your DIAD

Express & Ground has that capability as well

HD will be upgrading our old gray scanners to a black sleek scanner similar to the DIAD V & hope they'll have messaging capability to our centers / hubs