Casual feeder drivers paid more than back-up feeders.

anonymousupsman

I'm a Back Up Feeder driver in the NW. With that being said, I'm not at full scale yet. I'm on the 3-year progression and I have complete 1.5 years of that. I only drove package cars for a year and a half before I got to go into feeder.

The union has made an agreement with UPS, that states that back up feeder drivers will stay in progression and tell they have reached 3rd or 4th year (depending which contract you fall under) or until you build a run and feeder. Whichever comes first.

I'm thankful for the $19.15 that I'm making right now, but the casuals that they are training off the street for peak season are getting paid $27 an hour. Does anyone else feel that we should be paid the same rate for as long as they are working?

UPS and the union have not had to deal with this yet, so it's a question to be raised.

silenze

Lunch is the best part of the day
It depends on your local agreement. Our local has negotiated that we get bumped up to the seasonal rate during the seasonal period. Im In central Its currently 29$

greengrenades

To be the man, you gotta beat the man.
I've never heard of a casual feeder driver or a back up feeder driver. Just full time and cover drivers. However I just started driving in feeders at the beginning of this year and making roughly the same as you are. They have put up a bid sheet for cover drivers for feeders and honestly it doesn't bother me they make more. I am full time, and they aren't and will probably be stuck like that for a while. And hell once my 4 years is up it won't matter. I believe thats how it is in package? The cover drivers make more out of the gate but make less in the long run.

UPS4Life

We have casuals that make 24$/hr I think and the 3 years I spent in progression never complained once here's why;
As a casual you're not guaranteed any hour each day of the week if they don't call you tough.
As a casual you're basically on call 24/7 365.