Confused, Glossary of terms....?

MuppetUK

Hey guys, has anyone ever thought of putting up some sort of glossary on here of abbreviations and what they mean and commonly used terms?
It seems most of the posters on here are either package car drivers or Loaders/Unloaders. I am a feeder driver that moved to UPS via the Lynx Express aquisition in the UK.
When i worked at the Lynx main sortation hub, I knew how everything worked. I had Unloaded/Loaded trailers, worked on the coding (sorting parcels to the correct trailers), operated the sortation machine including helping at times to fix it. I also helped out in Operations before I moved to the driving, where due to a mechanical background I often fix minor faults on my truck myself. What i can't understand is most people at Lynx knew how the system worked and what everyone else had to do which made the job easier but since moving to UPS, I haven't got a clue. I seem to come across a large amount of abbreviations for everything under the sun and i haven't got a clue what they mean. I figured out what a DIAD is for but what are 1000s, 1200s etc on a package van? Nobody tells us anything at UPS. Just for example, I collected a load from a customer today and the truck seemed heavy. I wanted to weigh it to see if it was overweight. However, though we have a brand new axle weigher, there are no instructions on it and no-one knows how to use it!:angry:
Anyway what about the glossary idea? Anyone?

MonavieLeaker

Bringin Teh_Lulz
1200's and 1000's and 8000's refer to the shelf numbers on a package car.... lvd is low volume direct.... hvd is high volume direct...... pd is primary direct...those are the only ones i can think of but there many more:peaceful:

dannyboy

From the promised LAND
1200's and 1000's