Considering part time supervisor job at Gateway...

Pentel

A supervisor at my center just got promoted so there is now an opening.

I know gateways tend to be much more slack than the ground hubs....I have been w/ UPS almost 5 years and make 12.35 (about 20 hours per week)...how much of a raise should i expect as a supervisor on initial hire and how do raises work for PT sup's?

I know mgmt has to pay for the benefits, but are the benefits basically the same or better?

There have been no new driving jobs to bid on for over 18 months in my area, so this or sales is my only promotion option.

I am currently studying to be a personal trainer (just finished the textbook this week...now on to review), so i really don't know if i see UPS as a full time career (unless maybe as a driver), I am def still with the company for the amazing benefits. Fitness/nutrition is where my interests/excitement/passion lies but no benefits in that industry will match what UPS gives me. So i almost like the flexibility as a union member to cut back my hrs if i want and keep the same benefits

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Pentel, it sounds as though you have your priorities where they should be--do what you like for a career and do what you need to do to pay the bills. I am not at all familiar with the PT pay scale, union or management, so I can't help you there.

If it were me and I were you in your shoes I would focus on furthering my personal trainer career, which is your passion, while applying for the PT sup job at the gateway, which would provide me with supervisory experience and health benefits.

Good luck.

fr8dog

Just be careful. With what mgmt pays for their health benefits against their salary you might actually be taking a paycut.

hiro