Cover Driver Unemployment

gostillerz

I was hired as a preloader 2 years ago. Now, I'm a cover driver with 2 or 3 days left to qualify and was told I had to transfer to local sort before last peak so I could drive. I'm lucky if I work on Wednesdays, and never work reload. I have to call at 7am each day to see if I'm needed, then call back at 5pm to see if I have to work local sort.

I obviously can't get another job while I'm doing this on-call crap everyday, but I can't live off of $150 or $0 per week either. Could I be eligible for unemployment or at least go back to preload until I get enough seniority?

I'm in PA if that helps. Thanks everyone.

CFLBrown

With 2 years, why are not working the reload then? Are they laying people off ahead of you?

I'd investigate that a bit further.

TheKid

Having you call in is wrong....they need to either work you or lay you off. That "give me a call in the morning" is BS.

gostillerz

I'm in a center that does about 30 routes. When I was on preload, I was about in the middle for seniority, for local sort we only need 3 guys, and have 10 cover drivers who have less seniority so we're all screwed. The center manager's original plan was to to have me load in the am, then do a half route if they needed it or run misloads...junk like that since they knew we don't have enough volume.

I don't know if I can do anything about this, but I'm not going to quit either. I'm mostly worried if I make a fuss over this, They'll find a way to DQ me.

dodptsup

In PA you usually qualify for unemployment if you have a reduction in hours. We had a local sorter a few years back that had another job. He had to quit that job to be a cover driver, and he got unemployment, so you should too. File the claim, it's free!, and the worst that can happen is for some reason they deny it.

SWORDFISH