Day after Christmas games

cajunboy

Ok my sup asked me if I wanted to work the day after Christmas. I said yes and he asked if I wanted my guarantee. I said yes. He then said you are laid off... Then he added I could displace 2 ptmers. Problem I am a night p/u driver whose route is geared to 4 hrs. Do I have a good grievance. What should I do? How would other more experienced 22.3's handle this?
cajunboy

browndevil

Ok my sup asked me if I wanted to work the day after Christmas. I said yes and he asked if I wanted my guarantee. I said yes. He then said you are laid off... Then he added I could displace 2 ptmers. Problem I am a night p/u driver whose route is geared to 4 hrs. Do I have a good grievance. What should I do? How would other more experienced 22.3's handle this?
cajunboy
Crap! You mean he didn't even say Merry Christmas after that

Cementups

Box Monkey
If you are a FT driver, you have a right-to work over those PT's

We were all asked if we wanted to volunteer. Volunteers were taken and about 12+ of us were approved for personals.

StopCount

He then said you are laid off...

If you worked monday then you are guaranteed to work the rest of the week. They cannont choose which days you can work.

I asked my steward what would happen if all the drivers in my center wanted to work. He said that most of us would push a broom for 8 hours...

Stopcount, that makes no sense at all. If the volume isn't there they certainly have the to right to decide how many people get to work on a given day regardless of what other days you have worked. Who gets to work and who doesn't is decided by seniority. Senior can, junior must.

upsman68