Dispatch Supervisor Offer

Here's the deal: I've been working in primary for a couple of months and going to school full time during the afternoons and evenings. There are no problems, everything is going great, but there is an opening for the Dispatch Sup and I was approached by HR to see if I'd be interested, which I am.

My concerns are that the last two people to hold the position quit, but the one before them did it for four years and was promoted out of it. I'm not familiar with the position of Dispatch Sup, but can anyone tell me if it's a job that can be done "right." And by that I mean, is it possible for the Dispatch Sup to make all sides happy, or is it a job that's just set up for failure? I know what kind of grief management gets from all sides, and that's not too much of a concern, but I don't want to jump into something that's broken from the start with no hope of fixing it.

Any opinions are greatly appreciated or stories about the P/T Dispatch Sup in your center. Thanks.

BlackCat

That is probably one of the most thankless jobs in UPS (as a salaried employee) You will NEVER be able to appease everybody. EXPECT to make many difficult and unpopular decisions. Grow some very thick skin because you are going to have a turnstile of some very angry drivers in your ear daily.

You couldnt pay me enough to take that crap job.

jaker

trolling
But if you like playing and talking on your cell phone and can deal with drivers yelling at you then go for it

I had to do it when I was on light duty and I know where drivers come from and still got the stink eye from some , the jest of the job is to tell the drivers to go help other drivers or get some pickups , but you are telling them this right when we are trying to go home so we get pissed

Johney

But if you like playing and talking on your cell phone and can deal with drivers yelling at you then go for it