Does anybody know about a grievance for air combo drivers?

trapper

I am a full-time air combo driver. I work outside the hub picking up airs at the air rate and come back into the hub and shift at the shifting rate. I was hired prior to 1982 and am a red circled employee. I have heard rumors that that the air drivers up north grieved the split rate of pay and won back pay and the higher rate of pay for the whole day. Does anybody know anything about this?

Overpaid Union Thug

I've never heard of any combo jobs paying two different rates. They are supposed to be paid according the pay rates in the contract so the specific jobs shouldn't affect the pay. I'm not surprised those people you mentioned "up north" won their grievances because if you go full-time, whether it be driving or combo, you are supposed to be paid one full-time rate that is determined in the contract. Not air pay for picking up air and then comming in the hub and getting paid your inside rate.

CTOTH

Not retired, just tired
I agree with Big Arrow. This seems very fishy.
Hoser: Red Circled means highest rate according to the contract. This guy guy should be getting paid the same as senior drivers.

trapper

Under Article 40, 22.2 and 22.3 employees are paid the air rate for their air work and the rate for the other classification during that time. So only air combo employees have 2 pay rates for the day. I don't know where "up north" really is a UPSer just heard a rumor. It drives me crazy that I work for less in the air department than in my other part of the day!

A red circled employee was hired prior to 1982. So he has the higher rate of pay in every classification.

Overpaid Union Thug