DOT hours and second job

Sculpin

I am a part time Air Driver. My second job doesn't involve driving. Let's consider a scenario where I work 60 combined hours (both jobs), Monday through Friday. If on Saturday I work additional hours at my second job ( no driving), am I in violation? I am not putting anybody in danger, as I am not on the road any longer.... I would be sure to comply with 34 hour reset of course.

Rick Ross

I'm into distribution!!
If you aren't driving Saturday you are not in violation.

Once the 60 is up you can work 12 hours straight if you want, just not driving. Get your 34 off after you finish up Saturday and you're good to go Monday AM.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I am a part time Air Driver. My second job doesn't involve driving. Let's consider a scenario where I work 60 combined hours (both jobs), Monday through Friday. If on Saturday I work additional hours at my second job ( no driving), am I in violation? I am not putting anybody in danger, as I am not on the road any longer.... I would be sure to comply with 34 hour reset of course.

You would be violating the HOS rules but, truth be told, since the violation hours would be at your second job, the probability of anyone finding out are zero to none.

Rick Ross

I'm into distribution!!
You would be violating the HOS rules but, truth be told, since the violation hours would be at your second job, the probability of anyone finding out are zero to none.

How is he violating rules? This is no different than a feeder driver coming back right at his 60th hour and having to fuel and break down a set after their hours are up or being asked to shift on the yard because they need help. It happens all the time.

After he finishes driving at UPS Friday he can work as many non-dot hours as he likes as long as he has A) hours available and 10 hours off or B) coming off a 34 hour reset before the next time he drives.