Driver progression in the new contract

baklava

I don’t work at UPS anymore.
(I swear I tried searching the forums for an answer before writing this but I couldn't find what I was looking for.)

I'm a FT driver in my first year of progression ($17.25/hr) and my seniority date is May 2013. I know that I'll still be in the 3 year progression (made seniority before August), but do I also get the new first-year progression wage of $18.75 (and the subsequent 12 month/$19.50, 24 month/$21)? So I'd get the best of both worlds? And if my wage has gone up to $18.75 I should expect a retro check for the difference ($1.50/hr) dating back to Aug 1st, right? This may to a dumb question to some of you but I'm a new Teamster and this is my first new contract, I'm not sure how this works. Considering I've nearly maxed out my hours every week since making seniority it would be a nice, fat check.

baklava

You will have a retro check twice as nice as the rest of us. Congratulations on making full time and remember to work safe 100% of the time and not fall into the ups bonus trap.

Thanks! I was a PT sup for a decade and it feels great to have finally escaped.

I'm a little confused though because I have two conflicting answers here...iowa boy is saying that my progression rates will remain the same as the 2008 contract but your reply implies that I should be paid the 2013 rate. Which is correct? Thanks again for replying, any info helps

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I'm a little confused though because I have two conflicting answers here...iowa boy is saying that my progression rates will remain the same as the 2008 contract but your reply implies that I should be paid the 2013 rate. Which is correct? Thanks again for replying, any info helps

It is both----you are governed by the 2008 contract but will be eligible for the wage increases in the 2013 contract.

saintrick

You will keep the progression rates from the prior contract.

You will not get the rates from new contract.