Driver

Re-Raise

It is sort of exhausting.

They work you 10 hours a day or more becasuse that is cheaper for them than hiring any new drivers.

The packages can weigh up to 150 pounds, and on most routes you will be handling between 200 to 300 packages a day. It is very physical, and there is always a sense of urgency, or you won't get finished.

As far as the mental side of the job, I feel it is more important to be a confident problem solver , than it is to be creative. It isn't rocket science, but you do have to deal with customer personalities, one time pickups, COD s, time commits, and finding addresses you aren't familiar with.

The part I like best is that I don't take the job home with me. My wife has a job where she always has to prepare for meetings, or presentations on her free time. I am a college grad, and I used to hate always having my mind on an assignment that I should be working on when I was in school.

At least with this job, you may go home tired, but when you leave the center at the end of the day you know you have finished your day's work.

Shifting Contents

Most Help Needed
Keep you mind straight and the physical part means nothing. I work steady but I don't kill myself. Deliver 200 stops and most days over 400 pieces. Condos and single family. I work 8 hours one day and 10 the next. Its all the same to me. I have one speed, steady. I have one goal, making it to my most important stop alive and with a smile. Realize that your dispatch and UPS as a whole will never make sense and it'll make your life as easy as mine.

InsideUPS

What's it like being a driver on a daily basis?