Fans in the trucks, dust!

1Simplemann

1st post here. I'm a driver fro 11 yrs in Montana. I drive 100 miles a day on dusty gravel roads. I drive w/ the doors closed to keep the dust out. Obviously it gets hot and dusty in there. Anyway, last year I filed a grievance last year on two issues. 1st grievances I've ever filed! Fans in the cab Art. 18 Sect. 14, and sealing the truck from dust Art. 18 Sect. 17. I found out that the dust I've been breathing for years is potentially deadly. It's called Silicosis. Basically lung cancer over time! Since I don't smoke I became very concerned. Silicosis comes from crushed rock. It's a documented decease. Both the CDC and OSHA warn against the hazards of dust. It's a legitimate concern. The roads we drive on are made of crushed rock! There were two of us grieving the issue. Long story short the other driver was grieving that and 9.5 issues. He was/is a thorn in their side and VERY vocal about his issues. Labor Manager fired him for dishonesty. He got his job back 3 weeks later but very conveniently all his grievances went away. Well somehow my grievances were conveniently lost as well. NEVER heard a word. Not from the shop steward (he was new shop steward), not the BA. Nothing. BA just gave me the run around. Said the Union was just preparing their case. I was told that the truck was sealed to factory specs and they couldn't do anything else. More like "wouldn't" if you ask me. Winter came. No dust or heat issues obviously so I just let it go. Plus I just figured if I kept bitching they would somehow find something to fire me for instead actually fixing the problem. Fast forward to now. Summer. Hot and dusty! I just found out a safety committee member filed a grievance on the fan issue on behalf of all our center drivers. He actually hooked up a fan himself and the district manager saw it and had it removed. I offered to file an additional grievance but he said his was sufficient. So I guess my question or concern is are there o