Feeder the same as UPS Freight

CoolStoryBro

What is the difference?

UPS feeder primarily haul from UPS hub to another UPS hub. Some UPS feeder deliver packages or do pickups. Think "small package." amazon boxes that a normal ups dude delivers.

UPS freight deliver large items on pallets to companies. Stuff that's too big or heavy for a regular UPS dude to deliver.

That's simplified but close enough.

Thanks for the info, I am currently a deliver driver but thinking about trying to get into management field and I saw openings for both feeders and freight. If you had to pick one of them to try and get into it would be the feeders?

MC0493

I do work here, in a nutshell that is an answer. One is ups, (feeders, package). The other is freight which is a separate company.

sppollock

Thanks for the info, I am currently a deliver driver but thinking about trying to get into management field and I saw openings for both feeders and freight. If you had to pick one of them to try and get into it would be the feeders?

If you try to get into feeders at this time of year it is a temporary position, they rarely hire feeder drivers off the street, at freight you will get hired off the street to immediately start driving.

At freight we deliver big stuff as stated earlier mostly to business customers, we also take our big trucks into residential areas to deliver bigger freight such as grills, full size couches and things of that size.

If your looking to get into management run away, I have never seen a company that treats there mid level management worse then they do here. This is the observation I see, its not the same way all over but it is here in my area.

maxicoze

i might be switching to feeder (from freight) in a few weeks, so i may be able to give a very detailed contrast between the two.