Feeder training for CDL Holders

HFolb23

Ive been told that I’m going into feeders. I have a Class A w/ T endorsement already. I’m wondering what the process and expectation is going to be like. I’m being told I won’t have a training school because I have my CDL already. From reading here I thought feeder school was two weeks long, and a week long if you already have a CDL. Has that changed now? They told me it’s actually a 30 day qualification period. The feeder drivers in my center told me you lose points for things like not getting the trailer perfect on the dock or in between the lines or something.

I haven’t done a pre trip on a Class 8 tractor in years, other than some shifting in our yard I haven’t used a 10 speed in several years as well, I have never built a set of doubles before either. I know the basics on how to build and break down sets, just maybe not 100% by the book. Basically my concern is that I’m going to go in with all of the qualifications but none of the experience and get failed for it.

I can drive the trucks and park the trailers, I’m FT RPCD now but regularly fill in to shift the yard for our preload and move trailers for our night sort when needed. I remember how strict everything was at Integrad, worried that going into feeder qualifying will be the same standards and intensity of package qualifying without any of the training.

Realistically I have no concerns about being able jump in a tractor, connect a trailer, drive it to its destination and get it on the door. However, I’ve been at UPS long enough to know it can’t be that simple and that there will be many new rules, processes, and methods to learn. I was going to ask my center manager to spend a Saturday practicing but we don’t even have any manual tractors anymore. I can drive a manual car but haven’t touched a splitter in awhile. I even thought about trying to get a ride along with one of our feeder drivers but I doubt UPS would allow such a thing.