filled out ups online app

mitchel

i just filled out an UPS online application. after 20 years at fedex, I'm still not topped out, just looking at what my options are. Is it worth it? Would i get hired into a driving position, or expect to load trucks for years?

mitchel

so, they do hire guys into a driving position. i have a lot of knowledge of routes being a swing driver for so long...hell, i know almost every gate code in the valley

mitchel

the app was for a handler position. i was just thinking that at least that got me through the door and talk to someone

UPSGUY72

thanks. i have an interview scheduled. like, i said ..im looking into options, leaving a secure job is scary

What job did you apply for online a package handler or driving position ??? If there weren't any driver position posted and you applied for a package handler position that is the position your going for an interview for and for which you will be hired if you get hired.

UPSGUY72

the app was for a handler position. i was just thinking that at least that got me through the door and talk to someone

Your not going to hired as a driver. If there where driving position open they would have been posted and there is a 6 to 1 inside to outside hire ratio with the 1 usually going to a casual / seasonal driver or on some occasions a PT Sup.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

What job did you apply for online a package handler or driving position ??? If there weren't any driver position posted and you applied for a package handler position that is the position your going for an interview for and for which you will be hired if you get hired.

Not necessarily. If the HR person has any common sense, he/she will place this person in the position where he will fit best (provided there are openings).

mitchel