Fired Because Supervisor was having a bad day

SquirrelBoggie

I'm new to Brown Cafe but I have a question, can I get fired because a certain full time supervisor was having a bad day? I was picking off low volume and a bunch of damages were on the belt, I quickly grab a tote box to retrieve all the damages but I had to turn off the belt. As I proceded to pickoff my supervisor brings me up another tote box cause the damages were out of control, as I turn the belt off again a full time supervisor comes out of nowhere and begins to berate me and yells at me to turn on the belt, I turn on the belt without talking back, as the belt keeps going a 70lbs damaging comes flying down the belt, I turn off the belt again and the Full Time Supervisor told me I was fired for insubordination

SquirrelBoggie

Did you feel that the Over 70 flying down the belt was a potential safety issue?
Yeah, it damn near pinned me to the slide, the supervisor was pissed cause it was a Friday and 20% of the building called in. In our area all except 2 of the pickoffs were there and our belt tripped out the beginning of the night. The Full Time Supervisor was the only full time sup on our shift. So when things would go wrong everybody was blowing up that supes radio

OPTION3

Thanks for the advice! I been in the Union for 13yrs never been in any trouble until now.
........AND you are Part-timer as well? Don’t listen to the BS on here about the UNION not caring about you. People LIE for all kinds of reasons. This is UPS’s way of rewarding you for 13 years of service. The Union will protect you...Remember this....The UNION starts with
“U” you get out of it what you put in.

UPSGUY72

You'll get your job back whether or not you get paid for your days off is questionable. But you should get your guarantee for then day you where sent home.