Flashlights

pberrioz

How do you guys fair at night? Do you use a flashlight, Im a casual this xmas and my flashlight has become my best friend at when night falls on my route, not to mention im new to the route.

browntruckmechanic

Well isn't that special ?????????
Ask your center mechanic if he would upgrade the lighting in the cargo area w/led's. I have done this in mesquite. It is an easy upgrade w/no modifications to the trucks wiring.

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
Its funny, but at my first stop on the day the time changed, I found two large Mag-lites laying next to the road when I stepped out of my package car. One was a two D cell light and the other was a three, both had new batteries in them. I took the three cell home and put the two cell in my supplies box. My last delivery section that I run in the dark I know it like the back of my hand. Short driveways so I don't use a light. As a backup, I have a small Petzel headlamp I keep in my lunchbox. These leave your hands free and would be a good choice for walking off stops in the dark.

soberups

Pees in the brown Koolaid
The trick is to get done while it is still light out.

Kinda tough when its pitch black at 4:45 and you have a 12 hr day.

I bought a 3-pack of compact "tactical" high-intensity LED flashlights at Costco that I really like. They are small enough to fit in your front pocket, but they put out as much light as a full-sized Mag light. They are made of thick, solid aircraft-grade aluminum and the circular area around the lens is "scalloped" in such a way so that if you held it in your fist like a dagger and swung it downward with sufficient force you could crush the skull of a large aggressive dog with it. I prefer biscuits and belly rubs to keep the dogs on my route under control, but its comforting to have something a bit more substantial for those times when you arent quite sure what might be lurking behind the gate.

gman042

Been around the block a few times