getting paid for my time

Forty6and2

I'm Broken
Heres the scenerio folks.

As I am a cover driver and my center no longer needs me to drive right now, I have been sent back to preload. I still drive air after the sort two or three days out of the week, but I am getting much less hours driving as I did last summer.

My building has more drivers than it has lockers, so I keep my uniform out in my car and go change in the parking lot when I am asked to drive anything.

Sometimes one of my managers will come by at around 730 or 8 am and let me know if they think they will need me to drive. (It's nice to have a heads up so I can punch out of preload early to make the walk all the way through the parking lot and get changed by 9 a.m.)

My question is this-
If I choose to punch out at say 840am to get changed (so as to give me a little more time to get changed and relax a bit) and I get to my center all browned up at 9 and the center managers and supervisors now say "hang tight, we may not have anything for you."- shouldn't i get paid for the time I would have missed in the preload (that 20 minutes up til 9). I clocked out early so i could get my clothes on and get my stops set up by 9 and now they are telling me they may not have any work for me.
also if i SHOULD be paid for that time, at which rate...preload rate or air rate?

New Englander

Heres the scenerio folks.

As I am a cover driver and my center no longer needs me to drive right now, I have been sent back to preload. I still drive air after the sort two or three days out of the week, but I am getting much less hours driving as I did last summer.

My building has more drivers than it has lockers, so I keep my uniform out in my car and go change in the parking lot when I am asked to drive anything.