Greetings to all, first post.

Obrero

I've been reading this site since I was hired in early October but I just registered so I'll give my introduction and some background info.

I've been working at UPS since October. I was hired on for seasonal pre-load shift. I'm a full-time college student finishing up my last couple semesters, when I was hired mid-terms were going on, and during the busiest point of peak I had finals, but I had the best semester I've had yet, go figure. I have this job because I'm putting myself through college. Its been a drag at times, I've managed my time really well, and get the grades I want to, but it really kills my social life going to bed at 8. I'm starting to get over that by setting a goal for myself to spend my last semester in Spain studying, and looking forward to that makes this job and lifestyle not so bad. With that being said I must say that it's very character building working a job like this and going to school and I take a lot of pride in doing blue-collar work, but also being a teamster.

I don't plan on making a career out of UPS, though I respect anyone that does, you guys make the world turn more than most realize. My dad was a teamster, local 627 though not with UPS, and now I'm local 710 and it's a proud feeling to work union.