Ground Hub vs Air Terminal

jsav

Hey everyone. Yeah I'm a newbie (first post here), so pardon my potential stupidity.

I was wondering what it's like to work at a UPS ground hub versus a UPS air cargo terminal. I'm thinking about applying for a job at the local air terminal (SYR) for an evening shift. I applied for a job at the ground hub last year and took a tour; I decided to wait a little bit since I'm still in high school before making a decision. I don't think our air terminal is a major sorting hub. However, the ground facility is a big hub for our area.

(They're not hiring at this time, but I'm asking in case an opening should show up.)

Any suggestions?

Covemastah

Hoopah drives the boat Chief !!
Welcome to UPS kid!! you will be better off working in a hub ,chance to move up the ladder ,lots of jobs and lots of turn over wich will enable you to move up the ladder.. If you work at the airport you won't get as many hours and you will be out side for 3/4 hours in that brutal winter in a much more high pressure job. Get your self a good pair of work shoes,your feet are everything on this job.If you get hired it will be for Christmas only so don't get your hopes up too high for permanent job. But do the best you can,and do exactly as they teach you i t will save your body from aches and pains.show up on time everyday and dont call in sick..they know who the workers are that do a good job and with any luck you will be called back after peak!! if you hit the search key you can read other post from newbies who in the past have had your same ???""S I got family in Jamestown who are already gettin hammered with snow,I'm sure you are as well!!!!!! good luck and have THICK SKIN on this site!!

jsav