How do drivers get paid? (FedEx Ground)

hatoya

Is it by the number of stops, hours, or boxes?

I work as a loader and everyday I see drivers moving boxes out of trucks onto bulk trucks or others guys trucks without ever telling the driver. Sometimes it's because the boxes are too big and sometimes it's just a couple of small boxes. Also they always make sure you re-scan them to the different truck or that you un-scan stuff from their truck. What happens when you don't?

STFXG

It throws off your scanning accuracy. If its not deleted it shows up on the manifest for the truck it was originally scanned to. And if it isn't scanned to a truck that it is moved to then fedex has no way to trace where it ended up (cant blame someone if it disappears). It's probably the contractor moving boxes between his different trucks to better utilize his drivers.

Drivers are paid differently depending on who they drive for.

MrFedEx

Engorged Member
Is it by the number of stops, hours, or boxes?

I work as a loader and everyday I see drivers moving boxes out of trucks onto bulk trucks or others guys trucks without ever telling the driver. Sometimes it's because the boxes are too big and sometimes it's just a couple of small boxes. Also they always make sure you re-scan them to the different truck or that you un-scan stuff from their truck. What happens when you don't?

Usually, a low hourly rate ($12-$14 per hour) OR a flat weekly salary. No benefits and no OT. Some contractors pay a bonus for additional piece count over and above the average. There may also be other ways I'm not aware of because there are many variations of the scam.

MAKAVELI

It does when they don't have benefits such as health ins, retirement, 401k, ot , etc.

​But we barely have health ins, retirement, 401k, OT, etc.