How do you document to the DOT examiner that health condition is stable?

8000Shelf

I'm a full time driver and have my dot physical in about a week. I unfortunately have a medical issue that I will have to disclose and show that it (and it's treatment) is stable/won't effect my driving capabilities. My doc said he will document this for me anyway I need. I called my local dot doctor's office and asked what forms/releases/documentation/etc was needed. They couldn't tell me because nobody there knew..? I know us UPSERS are not all in perfect health and therefore have been through this themselves. What have you done in the past to document that a health issue you have is stable with treatment, prior to the physical. Thanks!

FrigidFTSup

Resident Suit
Bring a signed doctor's note saying the condition is stable and any other paperwork you can get to prove it. The doctor doing the physical is going to want to see it's stable before issuing the card.

toonertoo

Most Awesome Dog
Staff member
If its something he wont check, not knowing what you are talking of, I wouldnt check the box. Especially if its mental. Your doc has the facts, this guy checks your pulse.

FrigidFTSup

Resident Suit
If its something he wont check, not knowing what you are talking of, I wouldnt check the box. Especially if its mental. Your doc has the facts, this guy checks your pulse.
Theres usually the threat of a fine/jail time if you sign the form knowingly not disclosing a condition.

Mugarolla

Light 'em up!

Lying, or omitting known conditions on your DOT physical, can lead to disqualification.

Always fill it out accurately or risk losing it.

Mugarolla

Light 'em up!