How far would you go to repair UPS equipment as a non-mechanic?

rushfan

I once had turnpike doubles. The brakes were not properly adjusted-causing the brakes to smoke. One of our mechanics made a road call, and got me back on the road. At the turn around, my old meet driver had problems with the brakes not releasing.

He calls his mechanics, and agrees to do what the mechanic told him to do over the phone.....disconnecting the air line from the brake chambers, crimping them off with cable ties....I asked my meet driver if he ever has done such a thing. To which he said, "no, but these trailers have to make service." I told him that he was a fool for working on an air brake system with no knowledge-and making service isn't worth putting other lives at risk if anything went wrong.

My point is, do not work on any UPS equipment just to make service. Service is important, but when it puts others lives at risk it's just not worth it.

feeder05

As a feeder driver I have one job and one job only. To get to my destination in a safe and timely manner. When I have a mechanical problem I call my dispatch and tell them my problem and my location. I am not a certified mechanic. As long as I have preformed my pre trip of my equipment to company expectations than I have done my job.

I always asked myself when I was in packages when I was behind...will working unsafe and getting into a accident really make up time? No.
Remember you can not make up time on road. Have a happy and safe holiday season to all my fellow UPSERS.

soberups

Pees in the brown Koolaid
Lets see...

I replaced a burned out headlight bulb once, spent $10 at an auto parts store and got my money back the next day.

I also replaced a faulty flasher unit. Its a device about the size of a golf ball that just plugs into the fuse box. $12 and I got reimbused the next day.