I'm a new PT hire for Twilight Unloads

Bojack

I've been getting trained for unloading packages since Thursday. During the tour and and training, I have been told I am on 30 day probation for them to decide if they will keep me. So far, my supervisors like the effort I have been putting in and the willingness to learn. Of course they have pointed out I still have a few things to work out, as I go through my probation. My supervisor also pointed out on my first day, that if did not like what I was doing, he wouldn't keep me (He didn't put this rudely). I've competed in Track & Field for 3 years, so working hard for me is pretty good.

I was looking for tips and things I should keep in mind while I work through probation. I'm going to wait till I get paid to buy workboots. Do most of you stretch out before you start working? I'm still learning some of the slang/acronyms like "irregs" and how to properly spot them. What ways to help keep your endurance going having to repeatedly get low for packages on the ground?

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
Your probation is longer than 30 days...as you will not make book until January. Ways to spot irregs? If it is big and/or oddly shaped...or almost anything large that is not in a box.....rolls of carpet, tires, cardboard tubes, wooden crates, plastic coolers. Boxes that are large, or large and flat...or any box that weights more than 70lbs...all irregs.

Bojack

If it's longer than 30 days going towards January, shouldn't that have been said upfront? Is that normal across all warehouses?

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
If it's longer than 30 days going towards January, shouldn't that have been said upfront? Is that normal across all warehouses?
.Welcome to UPS! From October 15th to January 15th....none of those days count towards making book....hence come January 15th...you are still on probation.

T

Turdferguson