Information about BC Members - Getting to know you

Discussion in 'Introductions and Welcomes' started by stevetheupsguy, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. stevetheupsguy

    stevetheupsguy sʇǝʌǝʇɥǝndsƃnʎ

    Just wanted fellow BC'ers to share a little bit about themselves. I mean, when some people post they talk about how it is where they are, but never say where "there" is. Give us a little more info so we know who you are and where you're coming from. Don't need to get too personal. I mean I'm comfortable to tell you that I live in Port St. Lucie, Florida. You can say your state or the quadrant of the state you live in. Same goes with age, length of time on the job, current job, i.e. preload, driver, feeders or supe. Just a little more info like would really be helpful. If you don't want to participate don't, it's okay.

    I'll start first and feel free to follow with all or as much info as you like.

    Name: Steve

    Hobbies: Running, Cycling, spending time with the family and my BC addiction.
    BC member since April 2007, though never posted till August 2008
    Now it's your turn; Who are you?
  2. Monkey Butt

    Monkey Butt Dark Prince of Double Standards Staff Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Hoke, Hoax, Hold, Hook, Hack, Hulk, Hawk, Holt
    Start Date: May 1973
    Sex: Rarely Age: 54
    Originally from South GA; currently reside in Douglasville, GA
    Married: 1 Daughter (34) and 1 Grandson (8)
    UPS position: User Manager
    Hobbies: Tennis, Music, UPS and my BC addiction.
    BC member since August 1997, though never posted much until May 2008
  3. dilligaf

    dilligaf IN VINO VERITAS

    Re: Getting to know you.

    I'm Dilligaf or Dilli for short.

    Started May 05
    FT Driver Mar 06
    3 boys all grown.
    Single but living with a wonderful man. (married as far as I'm concerned)
    Hobbies- motorcycles and BC and spending time with my honey watching football. That's the only season there is!
    I will be 48 in Feb.
  4. evilleace

    evilleace Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: evilleace
    Start Date: May 12 08
    Sex: M Age:20
    I am from southern IN but originally born across the river in KY lived there for 13 years.
    Single right now
    UPS position: Unloader/Preloader/Spa person and I do tape ups and bulkslide I also have sorted, pretty much anything they need me to do. Just putting in my dues till I can drive.
    Hobbies: Basketball, Football, Baseball..well just sports in general, I also like to spend time with my family and play video games when I have free time and it is 10 degrees outisde like it is now. I am also a movie fiend and love to watch all kinds of movies.
    I also love to surf BC when I am home.

    Merry Christmas everyone

  5. Cementups

    Cementups Box Monkey

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Cementups, Cem, Cement, Cementhead, just don''t call me late for dinner.
    Start Date: July 29, 1993
    Sex: M
    Originally from WIlliamsport PA, Chicago when i was 3, in Harrisburg since I was 4
    Married: 3 yo daughter and 1 due in April
    UPS position: Driver since 96
    Hobbies: Golf and watching TV while surfing the internet
    BC member since 2007 somtime. I forgot to look before I started this
  6. MonavieLeaker

    MonavieLeaker Bringin Teh_Lulz

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Eric
    Start Date: June 19th 2000
    Location:Born and raised in Jacksonville,FL
    Hobbies: Music,Video Games,BC
    Member since April 2007
    Position: Secondary Sorter
  7. Jones

    Jones fILE A GRIEVE! Staff Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Jones
    Start Date: Jun 1992
    Sex: M
    Age: 43
    Lived all over the world, NoVa is home now til I retire or win the lottery
    Happily married, no kids and will probably keep it that way
    UPS position: Driver since 1995
    Hobbies: Running, lifting weights, messing around with my computer/home theater
    BC member since 2002 (different name on the old boards)
  8. brownrodster

    brownrodster New Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Rod Brown, AKA The Brown Rod
    Start Date: A few years to late, this is my 2nd career
    Sex: M 30 something
    From: Pacific NW
    Unmarried: No children (Very few bills, Lots of money to play with)
    UPS position: Driver

    I became a UPSER while in college. It was suggested to me that I go to work for UPS back when I was 18 and I sure wish I did. Instead I farted around in another career that made good money but was unfulfilling. I'm one of the few who actually like being a package driver. But when I'm able to go feeder I'm so there. I want that big 60 hour per week feeder pay. I don't think my body will make it to retirement if I work 60 hours per week in package for the next 20 years.
  9. cachsux

    cachsux Wah

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Age:43 going on 13
    Sex: I don`t cry anymore so I must be getting good at it.
    Home: the boonies of central Illinois
    Married:18 years
    Kids: 3 all smarter and better looking than me so I`m questioning if their mine.
    UPS: Ptime 3 1/2 years PSC,Package 6 1/2 years out of Palatine,Feeder 13 1/2 years almost all out of the lovely CACH facility.
    Hobbies:Cars-mostly street rods and 60-70 era stuff, Woodworking- mainly customizing old furniture or scratch building stuff,Home remodeling.

    Chronic smart ass due to shyness.
  10. chev

    chev Nightcrawler

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: chev
    State: Confusion
    Age: 38
    Sex: M .....last time I checked it was still there....

    Family: Married 15 years to my HS Sweetheart. 2 kids daughter 14 and son 12.

    UPS Position: Feeder Driver. Employed since Oct 1989. Started part time in college.

    P/T 4 years. Package 4 years. Feeder - current till retirement I hope. :D

    3 dogs one stupid cat and a bunch of rodents.

    Hobbies: P/C gaming. Mountain biking. Love motorcycles. Hope to get another soon.
  11. Big Babooba

    Big Babooba Well-Known Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Look hard and you will find it
    Sex: I wish
    Age: 51
    Home:Western Massachusetts all my life
    3 kids 2 girls, a boy and a son in law
    2 grandchildren, 1 of each persuasion
    Wife is off doing her own thing:angry:
    1 BIG ASS CAT and 1 normal sized cat
    Started with UPS: May 31,1978 - quit: Oct 1978
    Rehired: March 7, 1979
    Driver since July 1, 1987
    Hobbies? I've been called the You Tube whore:happy-very:
    Lasted edited by : May 22, 2009
  12. old brown shoe

    old brown shoe 30 year driver

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name -Hey UPS guy
    Age - Low 50's
    Live in pacific N.W.
    Package car driver since 1978
    Married with two grown children
    Like Football, NASCAR, hunting, fishing, spending time with family, restoring old cars and a cold beer after mowing the yard on a hot day.
  13. Channahon

    Channahon New Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Channahon - Chan
    Sex - Female
    Age - 57
    Home - Illinois
    1 husband, 1 daughter, 1 son in law - 1 granddaughter (15) 1 grandson -(12) - 2 cats -3 years old
    Started UPS as driver in 1978, retired as division manager in 2006.
    Hobbies: golf, gardening, crossword puzzles, and
  14. moreluck

    moreluck golden ticket member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Joyce
    Sex: F
    Age:61 and 1/2
    Originally from Lemont Furnace, PA. currently reside in San Clemente, CA. Have lived in Utah and Idaho

    Married: 3 children (2 girls 1 boy)
    Grandchildren: 3 Girl(14) Girl (13) Boy (12)
    UPS position: Hubby put in 28 years and left as a div. mgr.
    Hobbies: Gambling and hubby golfs
    Pet: Toy Manchester Terrier, Mocha, but we call her psycho-bitch.
    BC member since 5-4-2000,
  15. Ms Spoken

    Ms Spoken New Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Ms Spoken, bitch, momma, warden (what my kids call me)
    Start Date: May 89
    Sex: F 38 and holding
    From: Illinois
    Married with 2 wild :censored2: boys
    UPS position: Driver with a broken down body
    Hobbies: photography, oldest playing baseball, surfing the internet.

    I feel like we need a group hug after all this bonding.
  16. jw55wags

    jw55wags New Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: John
    Start date:Feb.1979
    Sex: good -age:53
    Southern Ind.
    Married 31 yrs.
    Kids: 4 boys ages: 26--24--22--20. oldest married-- we have 6 mo. old grandson
    3 boys still in college --crap I'm tired
    UPS--package driver since day one.
    Hobbies: Hanging out with family and friends-- drinking beer: anything outdoors
  17. upsgrunt

    upsgrunt Well-Known Member

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Steve
    Location: East central Illinois
    Started part time 9-1986
    Started full time 2-1989
    Originally a pig farmer till I went to college and started at UPS
    Age:42 with 22 years invested
    Married male for 16 years (to a woman) 4 kids age 21 to 11
    I enjoy Nascar, going to church, a very dry sense of humor, and a drink now and then.
    BC member since mid 2007 (I think) and enjoy the snide remarks and the comradarie.
  18. non_bid_dawg

    non_bid_dawg 32 routes in 3 centers..

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Start Date: 11/13/95
    Sex: M Age:36
    Originally from
    Married: 2 children, all girls
    UPS position: Driver since 01'
    Hobbies: Cycling, MTB XC, Downhill, Cyclocross, 4x and a little free ride. Watching my wife do the same thing at the top of her class and teaching my girls that they to can be as bad-ass as their
  19. UnsurePost

    UnsurePost making the unreadable unreadabler

    Re: Getting to know you.

    Name: Brian
    Location: The southern and eastern part of the northern part of the north and east.
    Occupation: Idolessworkthanmost
    Start date doinglesswork: 2/4/02
    Sex: M Married: not far away Age:30
    Cats: 1 **Ridiculous Maine Coon**

    hobbies/ serious persuits/mindless proprietary: musician, meteorology, cooking, eating, long walks on the beach

    most interesting quality: have been struck by lightning and can now see the future (ok, half of that is true)
    Lasted edited by : May 22, 2009
  20. rod

    rod retired and happy

    Re: Getting to know you.

    age--a young 60:peaceful:
    married -37 years-she puts up with a lot
    2 kids - daughter and her family live in Texas and are expecting twins in April
    one Grandson that brings us nothing but joy
    son- passed away 6 years ago and we miss him very much
    worked -UPS as a full time delivery driver for 30 years
    hobbies-fishing both winter and summer, motorcycling, flying with friends,road
    trips, playing on the computer, dirt track racing (especially World of
    Outlaws), and I still enjoy my beer
    location- Minnesota- land of 10,000 lakes and a zillion mosquitos